You may not have notice but Blackboard has a new tool that may be useful for you especially if you want to keep track of those students who may possibly be at risk. This new tool is call the Retention Center and it is accessible for all the courses that you teach from the top right hand side of the main Blackboard page under your name.
Here’s a brief overview of the Retention Center:
As the new term begins, get early insight into student performance. Check the overall academic health of your class in the main table and see who is struggling. With just a glance, find out who needs your help and drill in to see their specific areas of difficulty. Contact the most at-risk students immediately and flag those you want to monitor closely. As you observe their progress and send emails, you can also keep track of this correspondence and make notes about each student right in the Retention Center.
Tailor the default rules to suit your teaching methodologies:
- Change the threshold for due dates to be more lenient.
- Create two or three new rules to track specific items that are good indicators of risk.
- Create rules to let you know which students are in the top five percent of your class and reward their work. You can use this information to discover student mentors, assign group membership, or find teaching assistants.
Use your course activity information to prioritize which areas of your course to attend to first.
The earlier you can discover and remedy problems, the more successful students become. They are more likely to finish your course and continue the program through to graduation—the ultimate retention goal for an institution.
Access the Retention Center
The Retention Center is automatically on and immediately visible in your My Blackboard menu, and also accessible in the Evaluation section of a course’s Control Panel. The information in the Retention Center is for instructors only and is not seen by your students.
You can turn the Retention Center on or off in your course from the Control Panel > Customization > Tool Availability. If you teach a course with another instructor, and turn off the Retention Center, you are turning it off for both of you.
You can stop or start tracking individual courses from My Blackboard. On the Retention Center page, click a course link in the left panel and use the tracking link in the right panel following the course name. Once disabled, warnings will no longer be refreshed, and Retention Center is hidden in the Evaluation section of the Control Panel in the course.