As you know we are having issues with You Tube videos not playing full screen and in addition the discussion board is having access issues for instructors if they are made unavailable to students. All of this is due to an update to fix other issues.
All that aside I wanted to ask you if you knew that you could disable students ability to participate in discussions without making the entire discussion unavailable to them? You can set a role for the students in discussion that is read only after the due date for discuss participation has passed. In order to do this proceed to your discussion and locate the forum where you want to terminate students participation . Locate the menu as if you were going edit the forum and select “Manage”.
Once that has been selected you will get a list of students names and you will notice that they have a role of participant which means they can create threads and reply to messages.
If you check the boxes in front of the students names and proceed up to the “Edit Role” button at the top left side of the page you will see a list of roles available. If you change the role of the students to reader they will no longer be able to contribute to the discussion but they can read what was contributed. This change of role would allow you to keep the discussion open and to be able to go in and edit if needed.
In order to fix the You Tube and Discussion issues it will require Bb downtime, so I am currently trying figure the best time available to do that. In the meantime if you have any questions please let me know.